Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

  • 060
  • 064
  • limpopo 057 (4)
  • limpopo 114 (3)
  • limpopo 128 (3)
  • limpopo 129 (3)
  • limpopo 131 (3)
  • limpopo 156 (3)
Planning & Control Centres

The railway system in Limpopo is divided into three geographical areas and each area is controlled independently. The branch from Lephalale to Pretoria is controlled by a TCO (Train Control Officer) at the former passenger station in Thabazimbi, while the Pretoria - Beit Bridge main line is controlled from Polokwane. The section from Groenbult to Tzaneen and Hoerdspruit is also controlled from Polokwane. The Phalaborwa to Kaapmuiden section is controlled from Phalaborwa itself.

Customer services are served in a similar area split-up. Customers on the Lephalale lline are served from Rustenburg in the North West Province, while those from Pienaarsrivier to Beit Bridge and Groenbult to Hoedspruit are served by staff at Polokwane. Rail users on the Phalaborwa to Kaapmuiden section are served by the Customer Service Manager at Nelspruit in Mpumalanga.

Maintenance Of Infrastructure & Rolling Stock

Only light repairs are undertaken in the province. All locomotive repairs are done at Pyramid South or Koedoespoort. Wagon running repairs take place at Polokwane at a facility recently taken over by Transwerk. Light repairs such as replacing brake blocks are undertaken at Thabazimbi and Phalabowra as required.

Mechanised track maintenance is undertaken by two contractors who supply specialised equipment and work in close conjunction with the railway infrastructure maintenance department.