Mpumalanga Province Freight Data Bank > Rail > Marshalling Yards

Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

Rail Cross Border Aviation Industries Pipelines Rail Industries Road Roads Trains Electricity Power Station Middleburg Rail Station
Marshalling Yards
  • Breyten

  • This yard is no longer in general use since the Springs line traffic has been diverted to Ermelo and the original line terminated at Estancia.
  • Ermelo

  • This large yard, located several kilometres to the south of "old" Ermelo, is for the swap-over between shorter trains on the 3 kV section to the north and the longer trains which operate on the 25 kV line to the south and Richards Bay. With the introduction of new AC/DC electric locomotives it will be possible to operate 200 wagon trains from the Ogies and Wonderfontein areas. There are separate yards for general freight traffic and coal traffic. In addition, workshops have been provided for both locomotive and rolling stock running repairs.
  • Kaapmuiden

  • There are two yards at Kaapmuiden. The first is the old yard for mainline traffic from Komatipoort to Waterval Boven and Barberton branch traffic, while the second is for traffic on the Phalaborwa and Tzaneen liners. The yards are not used to a great extent at present.
  • Komatipoort

  • This is the final yard on the line to Maputo. Trains on the steeply graded section past the border and to or from Ressano Garcia in Mozambique are re-marshalled here. The yard also serves the Swaziland line, although through trains from and to Phalabora on this section normally by-pass the yard itself.
  • Middelburg

  • Middelburg has a small yard adjacent to the old passenger station. It is used to marshall wagons for local private sidings and for the exchange yard of the steel mill. A private freight forwarder operates a small container terminal at the east end of the station and trains are made-up in the yard.
  • Nelspruit

  • Nelspruit has a relatively large yard, serving the mainline, the Graskop branch and the local industrial area.
  • Ogies

  • The Ogies yard is used to re-marshall local originated general freight and coal traffic for conveyance over the main line or the Ermelo line. Coal traffic from the Landau Rapid Loading terminal by-passes Ogies and is routed directly over the line to Ermelo. With the introduction of new AC/DC electric locomotives, 200 wagon trains will operate from Blackhill and Minnaar. This will reduce shunting requirements at this station.
  • Saaiwater

  • A large yard here services three private colliery operations. With the introduction of new AC/DC electric locomotives, 200 wagon trains can operate from these collieries.
  • Standerton

  • The Standerton yard sees little use since general freight traffic has diminished. It is used by branch line trains to Vrede.
  • Trichardt

  • There is a medium size yard at the old station and Spoornet locomotives often break-up trains for shunting into the Sasol Secunda exchange yard to the east of the station itself.
  • Volksrust

  • Volksrust had two yards until recently. The original yard at the station was used to serve the Bethal branch and local traffic before the by-pass line was constructed on the west side of the original mainline. The line into Volksrust itself has now been uplifted. There is a relatively large yard at Vooruitsig at the north junction of the two lines. Through trains stop here to change crews.
  • Waterval Boven

  • The Waterval Boven yard is used largely for traffic on the Machadodorp - Ermelo line and for local traffic to the chrome smelter at Fairview.
  • Witbank

  • Witbank yard is used for remarshalling trains to and from Pretoria and Welgedag, as well as for the industrial area at Ferrobank. There is an electric loco running shed and it is a crew change-over point.
Maintenance Of Infrastructure And Rolling Stock
  • Ermelo

  • An important maintenance and train control centre on the Coal line. Electric locomotive and rolling stock are examined prior to beginning the long journey to the coast. A track maintenance depot is located here as well as a Centralised Traffic Control (CTC) train control centre.
  • Nelspruit

  • The new class 18 electric locomotives (formerly Class 6E1) are maintained at the Nelspruit depot. The smooth operations of trains from Phalaborwa are catered for at this point, with wagons being checked before proceeding to Richards Bay via Komatipoort.
  • Witbank

  • This centre caters for DC electric locomotives operating on the western end of the Maputo Corridor and is an important crew changing point.